December Artwork Roundup

December was a spectacular month for Black Library artwork. We have had some truly amazing art being shown for future novels as well as the Advent Calendar “quiz” which saw speculation in the fandom ramping all the way to 11 and beyond.

So let’s take a peek into just what got released for December and what we can expect in the future.

Continue reading

Author Interview – Graham McNeill

Happy New Year folks! Hope you have all had a great ending to 2011 and an equally great beginning for 2012. We took a break during the closing week of December but now we are back and with our biggest author interview yet. Today, we are going to be meeting with Graham McNeill, who has been a part of both Games Workshop and Black Library for a long, long time. He has worked on several codexes and armybooks over the year and was a White Dwarf writer as well.

He is the author of the long-running Ultramarines novels featuring the Fourth Company under the atypical Captain Uriel Ventris. He has written various trilogies and duologies for Warhammer Fantasy, particularly the Sigmar novels for Age of Legend. He brought the Iron Warriors to life with his early novel Storm of Iron and later with the Iron Warrior novella. Over time, he has moved on to the Horus Heresy series where he is the most prolific writer yet and all his HH novels have been fantastic.

One of his previous Horus Heresy novels, A Thousand Sons, that focuses on the mysteries and motivations of the Thousands Sons legion and their enigmatic psyker-Primarch, Magnus, was the first Black Library novel to make it to the New York Times Bestsellers List on its release. It debuted at number 22. This was also a first for Graham McNeill, and given that the Horus Heresy series is already a top-selling brand from Black Library, the popularity of everyone involved just soared in its wake.

In short, he is one of the most well-known, respected, prolific and fun writer for Black Library.

Continue reading

Author Interview – Philip Athans

Monday rolls around yet again and we have another author interview to delight you all. I kept the name for this week’s author secret for a very good reason. That reason was that he is a completely new entrant to Black Library but given his already published works, he is a prominent member of the industry. As you shall all find out now.

Phil Athans is someone that the Dungeons & Dragons fans on the Bolthole should have no problem in recognizing, given all the work he did with TSR and later Wizards of the Coast. Fans of Forgotten Realms and Baldur’s Gate will recognize him from his novels. People who have been interested in, and are, might also recognize him from his how-to book co-written with the great R. A. Salvatore himself – The Guide To Writing Fantasy and Science-Fiction: 6 Steps To Writing and Publishing Your Bestseller.

Without any further ado, for the interview covers a fair amount of his work, I give to you the man himself.

Continue reading

November Artwork Roundup

November has come and gone, and with it we have been treated to a host of wonderful artwork from Black Library, whether it is for the novels or the audio dramas. All of Black Library’s artists, everyone from Neil Roberts and Jon Sullivan to Cheoljoo Lee and Winona and many others have done some great work this year and they seem set to deliver even better for next year.

So withour further ado, here is some of the Black Library artwork for the month of November for some of 2012’s most anticipated releases.

Continue reading

Author Interview – Nick Kyme

Happy Monday morning folks!

Today we have our third author interview, this time with Nick Kyme, author of various Black Library publications such as The Tome of Fire series, the Dwarf novels Oathbreaker and Honourkeeper for Warhammer Fantasy, Fall of Damnos, Horus Heresy: Promethean Sun, the audio drama Thunder from Fenris and many others.

His latest includes the third Salamanders novel, Tome of Fire: Nocturne which is currently available in both print and digital form, the short story Blueblood in the Sabbat Worlds Anthology and also a Salamanders short story, The Burning, in Hammer & Bolter 14.

Nick is also an editor with Black Library, and has worked particularly on the Heroes of the Space Marines anthology.

Shall we dive in to the interview then?

Continue reading