Author Interview – Paul S. Kemp

The last monday of January welcomes an interview with another new author to join Black Library this past year, so give him a warm welcome people! Paul Kemp is quite a prolific writer for the Forgotten Ralms setting and has also worked in Star Wars Expanded Universe as well over the years.

Paul started off for Black Library with a short story for the Age of Legend anthology that is set within the Time of Legends meta-series for Warhammer Fantasy. A Small Victory has received a lot of praise so far and if the interview with him below is any indication, we can expect a lot more stuff from him this year. One of his recent works is also the novel Deceived, featuring the Sith Lord Darth Malgus who also features in Star Wars: The Old Republic, Bioware’s recently-launched MMO. Looking at that cover, Malgus inspires shivers and goosebumps aplenty.

Continue reading

Author Interview – Philip Athans

Monday rolls around yet again and we have another author interview to delight you all. I kept the name for this week’s author secret for a very good reason. That reason was that he is a completely new entrant to Black Library but given his already published works, he is a prominent member of the industry. As you shall all find out now.

Phil Athans is someone that the Dungeons & Dragons fans on the Bolthole should have no problem in recognizing, given all the work he did with TSR and later Wizards of the Coast. Fans of Forgotten Realms and Baldur’s Gate will recognize him from his novels. People who have been interested in, and are, might also recognize him from his how-to book co-written with the great R. A. Salvatore himself – The Guide To Writing Fantasy and Science-Fiction: 6 Steps To Writing and Publishing Your Bestseller.

Without any further ado, for the interview covers a fair amount of his work, I give to you the man himself.

Continue reading